GSCA Achievement Awards

The GSCA 2012 Achievement Awards were presented at the Esquire IMAX Theatre on September 18, 2012, during the GSCA International Conference and Trade Show in Sacramento, California. IMAX Corporation also presented its Maximum Image Awards that evening. Photos by James Hyder for GSCA. © 2012 by Cinergetics, LLC.

David Keighley Post Production Consulting and Print Quality Control; Director and Sound Designer Ben Burtt; the Director of Communications for Lockheed Missiles and Space, George Mulhern; Producer/Director Graeme Ferguson; Producer/Director, Writer, and Editor Toni Myers; and Director of Photography James Neihouse

The Dream Is Alive

Special Recognition Award

On April 4, 2012, IMAX Corporation donated two unique cameras to the permanent collection of the Smithsonian Institution’s National Air and Space Museum in Washington DC. The two 70mm IMAX cameras flew a combined total of 20 space shuttle missions from 1984 to 1998. The IMAX team, led by co-inventor Graeme Ferguson, included cinematographers David Douglas and James Neihouse, audio trainers Ben Burtt and Greg Smith, scene development and content advisor Toni Myers, and Associate Producer Phyllis Ferguson. Together they trained 99 astronauts in all aspects of IMAX movie making. Using the footage they brought back, a special partnership between IMAX, NASA, Lockheed Martin Corporation, and the National Air and Space Museum enabled the production of 4 films: The Dream Is Alive, Blue Planet, Destiny in Space, and Mission to MIR. Following the phenomenal success of the first four films, 46 more astronauts and cosmonauts were trained to use IMAX 3D cameras to make Space Station 3D and Hubble 3D. Altogether, the 6 films have taken over 100 million people to space. The GSCA awards event included a panel discussion with the filmmakers and a special screening of The Dream Is Alive.

To the Arctic

Best Film-Short Subject (tie)
Best Film for Lifelong Learning

Director Greg MacGillivray and Producer Shaun MacGillivray

Rocky Mountain Express

Best Film-Short Subject (tie)
Best Cinematography

Directed and produced by Stephen Low. Cinematography by Stephen Low, Mark Poirier, and Ralph Mendoza. Produced and distributed by The Stephen Low Company. Pictured here are Alex Low, Producer; Mark Poirier, Director of Photography; Stephen Low, Producer/Director; Shaune Sylvester, Pietro Serapiglia, Producer

Steve McNicholas and Luke Cresswell, Yes/No Productions
Brian Eimer and Mike Roberts

The Last Reef

Best Original Score
Best Sound Design

Original Score by Steve McNicholas and Luke Cresswell. Sound Design and mix by Brian Eimer and Mike Roberts. Produced by Giant Screen Films, Yes/No Productions, Liquid Pictures. Distributed by Giant Screen Films.

Mission: Impossible–Ghost Protocol: The IMAX Experience

Best Film-Feature Length

Distributed by Paramount Pictures and IMAX Corporation. Pictured here are IMAX Corporation’s Gina Glen, Manager, Domestic Film Distribution; and Bernie Paine, Director of Film Marketing.

National Geographic
Flying Monsters

Best Marketing Campaign by a Distributor

John Wickstrom, Sales Director, Film Distribution; Antonietta Monteleone, Director of Distribution; Mark Katz, President, Distribution; Nikki Lowry, Director of Film Marketing and Outreach; Lisa Truitt, President; Nell Constantinople, Distribution Coordinator

Montreal Science Centre
Born to Be Wild

Best Film Launch by a Theater

Julie LaRoche, Director Sales, Products and Customer Service at the Montreal Science Centre

Digicel IMAX Theatre Trinidad

Best Theater Marketing Campaign

Awarded for the launch of their new theater. Picturred here are Brian Jahra, Chairman, Giant Screen Entertainment Limited; Ingrid Jahra, CEO, Giant Screen Entertainment Limited; James Patterson, Bangkok IMAX Theatre Co.

The Henry Ford

Big Idea Award

Awarded for their Quidditch match to promote Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2: The IMAX Experience. Pictured here are Amy Louise Bartlett, Director of Guest Services and IMAX; Ron Bartsch, Senior Manager, IMAX Projection & Programming; Chris Young, student producer and director.

Dick Vaughan

Big Shoe Award

Awarded by GSCA staff to recognize an exemplary volunteer.

Science Centre Singapore
Born to Be Wild Program and Children’s Day Program

Best Educational Program

No photo available.

Maximum Image Awards, Presented by IMAX

Diane Carlson

IMAX Founders Award

Patricia Keighley (IMAX) and Diane Carlson

Shackleton’s Antarctic Adventure

Hall of Fame Award

Produced by White Mountain Films and WGBH/NOVA. Distributed by National Geographic Entertainment. The Hall of Fame award honors a film that is at least 10 years old and is voted on by the IMAX theater network. Pictured here are John Wickstrom, Sales Director, Film Distribution; Antonietta Monteleone, Director of Distribution; Mark Katz, President, Distribution; Nikki Lowry, Director of Film Marketing and Outreach; Lisa Truitt, President; Nell Constantinople, Distribution Coordinator.

The Tech Museum

Best IMAX Booth

Pictured here are Samantha Robinson, Theater Operations Lead; John Angle, Chief Projectionist; Michelle Duncan, IMAX Theater Manager

Science Centre Singapore

Best IMAX Booth

No photo available