GSCA Achievement Awards

The GSCA 2013 Achievement Awards were presented at the Canadian Museum of Civilization on September 14, 2013, during the GSCA International Conference and Trade Show in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. IMAX Corporation also presented its Maximum Image Awards that evening. Congratulations to the following award recipients. Photos by James Hyder for GSCA. © 2013 by Cinergetics, LLC.

Amber Hawtin, Wendy MacKeigan, Jonathan Barker, and Lynne Valiquette (SK Films)
Sound Designers Peter Thillaye and Ed Douglas (Thillaye Productions)

Flight of the Butterflies

Best Film-Short Subject
Best Film for Lifelong Learning
Best Cinematography
Best Original Score
Best Sound Design
Best Marketing Campaign by a Distributor

The Dark Knight Rises: The IMAX Experience

Best Film-Feature Length

Jordan Gregory and David Keighley, IMAX Corporation

Flight of the Butterflies

Best Film Launch by a Theater

Alexandra Van Der Zee, Omniversum

Canadian Museum of Civilization

Big Idea Award

For the video they produced featuring Commander Chris Hadfield aboard the International Space Station to promote its launch of the IMAX film Space Station. Pictured here are Michele Canto, David Henderson, Marie-Claude Vachon (Canadian Museum of Civilization).

SK Films and the Maryland Science Center

Big Idea Award

For their collaboration on the educational materials for Flight of the Butterflies. Pictured here are Jonathan Barker and Wendy MacKeigan (SK Films), Jim O’Leary (Maryland Science Center), Amber Hawtin (SK Films).

Martin Howe

Big Shoe

The Big Shoe is awarded by GSCA staff to recognize an exemplary volunteer. Pictured here are Tammy Barrett (GSCA Executive Director), Martin Howe (Electrosonic), Kelly Germain (GSCA Director of Communications and Membership).

Diane Carlson

Big Shoe

The Big Shoe is awarded by GSCA staff to recognize an exemplary volunteer. Tammy Barrett (GSCA Executive Director), Diane Carlson (Pacific Science Center), Kelly Germain (GSCA Director of Communications and Membership).

Fernbank Museum of Natural History
Butterfly Bash Family Events

Best Educational Program

No photo available.

Maximum Image Awards, Presented by IMAX

MacGillivray Freeman Films

IMAX Founders Award

Chip Bartlett, Mary Jane Dodge, Greg MacGillivray, Barbara MacGillivray, Shaun MacGillivray, Meghan MacGillivray, Lori Rick, Bob Harman (MacGillivray Freeman Films)


Hall of Fame Award

Produced by Reuben H. Fleet Science Center, S.E.M. Les Productions La Geode, Magidson Films, Canticle Films Ltd. Distributed by MacGillivray Freeman Films. The Hall of Fame award honors a film that is at least 10 years old and is voted on by the IMAX theater network. Pictured here is Craig Blower (Reuben H. Fleet Science Center).

Science Museum of Minnesota

Best IMAX Booth (Film)

Pictured here is Becky Kirkpatrick, Science Museum of Minnesota

Science Center of Iowa

Best IMAX Booth (Film)

Pictured here is Kent Maahs (Science Center of Iowa)

Denver Museum of Nature and Science

Best IMAX Booth (Digital)

Pictured here is Toby Winsett (Denver Museum of Nature and Science)

Cinescape 360° IMAX, Kuwait National Cinema Company

Best IMAX Booth (Digital)

No photo available