Using the science of modern archaeology, MacGillivray Freeman’s Greece: Secrets of the Past transports audiences back in time to the dawn of democracy and the birthplace of Western Civilization on a quest to uncover the buried secrets of one of the world’s most enlightened societies–ancient Greece. Featuring state-of-the-art CGI, Greece: Secrets of the Past probes some of the greatest lingering mysteries of this remarkable civilization: How did the Greek empire of some 2,500 years ago flourish so fantastically? Why did it suddenly fall? And what inspiration does the Greek’s passionate quest for truth and knowledge continue to hold for our lives today? At once a modern detective story and a sweeping journey to the distant past, Greece: Secrets of the Past offers a new and exciting perspective on an age of universal importance to us all.

Length: 40:00

Film Details

  • Year Released: 2006
  • Date Released:
    February 2006
  • Alternate Titles:
  • Status: In Distribution
  • 3D: No
  • Run Time: 31-50
  • Formats: 8/70, 15/70, Dome-customized 15/70
  • Distributor:

    MacGillivray Freeman Films

  • Produced By:

    MacGillivray Freeman Films Educational Foundation, produced in association wit the Canadian Museum of Civilization

  • Executive Producer: Alex G. Spanos, Dea Berberian, Georgette Alithinos, Harrison Smith
  • Producer: Greg MacGillivray, Alec Lorimore
  • Director:  Greg MacGillivray
  • Associate Producer: 
  • Writer:  Stephen Judson, Jan Boorstin
  • Cinematography: Brad Ohlund (DOP), Ron Goodman, James Neihouse, Howard Hall, Bob Cranston, Jack Tankard
  • Sound Editor: 
  • Visual Effects: Visual effects by Sassoon Film Design and VFX & Creative Post
  • Music/Score:  Steve Wood
  • Editor: Stephen Judson
  • Narrator: Nia Vardalos
  • Other Credits:
  • Sponsors: Presented by Alex G. Spanos


  • Destination
  • Documentary
  • Historical



Best Soundtrack, Giant Screen Cinema Association (GSCA), 2006 (presented to composer Steve Wood)

Film Facts

The highest grossing giant screen 2D film of 2006.